What to Do When Trying to Start Your Life Over

Image

I know deciding to start your life over is extremely frustrating. Whether you decide to change to quit your job and find a new one or you decided to completely try a new professional field, huge changes like that can be overwhelming and a little scary. After almost a year after I decided to change my career path and completely start my life over, I’ve learned a lot about myself and I’m much better off for it. I’ve always made a lot of mistakes to get where I am and I figured this would be a great way to help those who need guidance. I hope this article will help you with your experience to move forward.

  1. Stop Thinking. 
    I know it’s overwhelming to start over again, but feeling lost is natural. When you decide to completely change your life, you’re going to do a lot of thinking. You’ll stress about figuring out what you want and that’s only going to leave you feeling more frustrated and less motivated. What I’ve learned about this method of finding yourself is that it does NOT work. Stop thinking about the things you like and start doing them. See how you feel when you are doing them. Try new things you’ve always wanted to try. Read more books you are interested in and if you aren’t interested in them anymore, stop reading them. People don’t learn to ride a bike by thinking about it. They have to fall a few times before they succeed. Life is the same way. You never know what you really want to do unless you try it out and observe how your body feels when you’re experiencing these things. So stop thinking and start doing.
  2. Don’t Listen to the Noise.
    Learning this was the hardest thing for me to do and I’m still trying to ignore it. Don’t listen to other people’s negative thoughts about your choice to change. There are always going to be people that disagree with what you are doing. Either they are worried for you and want you to have a secure job or they are jealous they didn’t quit their jobs as well. No matter why they are saying what they are saying, this change is never going to be as important to them as this is to you. You control your destiny, and you have to decide what feels right for you.
  3. Enjoy the Ride. 
    Life can be a stress filled, scary place or it can be your playground. But that is your choice. Though this is not the ideal situation you wanted to be in, try to make the most of what you can from it. Remember that the journey is just as, or even more important, than the end. This is the time where you can do whatever interests you. So live a little!
  4. Don’t be Afraid to Fail.
    Everyone fails. And really it doesn’t matter how many times you fall. It’s about how many times you get up. Failing just means that you actually put yourself out there and honestly that takes a lot of courage. So pat yourself on the back, you deserve it. Besides, you learn so much more from your failures than your successes, so in a way you’re succeeding by growing!
  5. Stop Trying to Find Your Passion. 
    I wasted so much time trying to find my passion. Passion isn’t something you have to discovery. Passion is something you have to remember. After teaching children for a living, I realized something very important; children know who they are. They are too young to be influenced by their parents’ expectations or society’s norms. They don’t try to be something they’re not. They are perfectly imperfect, nothing more, nothing less. We just have to reconnect with our inner child. What did he/she want to always do? Start there.
  6. Don’t Think the Fear is Your Enemy.
    Fear is the path to your heart’s desires. Whatever you are afraid of, face it. Get out of your comfort zone and feel that rush. See how you feel when you try the things you always wanted to try. Studies have shown that if you just change the outlook of the situation, the fear you feel can actually turn into excitement. Believe in yourself. You can do it!
  7. Stop focusing on the problem. 
    Most people who start over only focus on the problem. Think of a New Year’s Resolution. “Lose weight”, “Pay off Loans”. People write down the problem and focus on the problem they need to address instead of the solution. “Exercise 5 times a week”, “Stalk up the pantry with healthy food”. This is why people end up quitting their New Year’s Resolution after a couple of weeks. So instead of saying I’m lost, I’m unemployed and I don’t know what I want to do with my life. Start with a plan. Plan to do something you always wanted to do. Go to the library and read. Go help at a homeless shelter. Start focusing on a solution, not the problem.

I hope this helped. I know what it’s like to feel lost and a little helpless (as I am currently going through the motions) but I want you to know that you’re not alone, this isn’t the worst situation to be in and you, like I, will eventually find what we are looking for. Maybe it won’t be exactly what you imaged it to be but trust me, it’ll be even better.

Leave a Reply

