5 Health Tips Everyone Should Live By

Image

  1. Eat your calories.
    What do I mean by that? I don’t drink my calories. I know a lot of people believe juices are good for you but the way I see it, why not just eat the fruit or vegetable you were going to juice anyways. You’ll get more fiber from it and it will take longer for your body to digest, making you fuller for longer.
  2. Carry a Water Bottle Everywhere.
    I refill my water bottle with water at restaurants (#noshame). You never know how much water you want to sip at until you bring a canteen with you where ever you go. It keeps you hydrated, helps you tell when you are actually hungry and it is an instant detox. Plus, it’s great for the environment.
  3. Go Outside and Play.
    If you don’t like the gym, don’t go! I personally love the gym. I feel stronger, happier and (not gonna lie) sexier after I gym. But I know it’s not for everyone. Don’t drag yourself to something everyday to lose weight. Make your health journey something you look forward to. Go on a hike, walk your dog, take a dance class, play ball with your friends. Enjoy activities. Working out doesn’t have to feel like work. You can’t keep it up if you don’t like it. This is a lifestyle change, not a YOYO diet. Love what you do every minute and don’t settle for less.
  4. Get Excited to Eat Healthy Food
    When you eat, make sure you can fully appreciate your food. Eat slowly. Try eating with a cocktail fork (it works for me!). Healthy food doesn’t have to taste bad. When your food just is too plain, add natural flavorings such as garlic, onions, lemon juice, lemon zest, peppers, herbs, etc… Smell the food before you eat it. Really enjoy what you eat. If you can live without some things, DO IT! I mean it. I actually can live without a lot of things. I don’t need butter, bread, white rice, pasta, almost anything from a box. But I can’t live without sugar. I have the worst sweet tooth and I know it. I can usually keep a great diet going but if I know there is something sweet in the house, I binge on it. So I never leave sugar in the house. If I want something, I have to go out and get it myself. It was the best decision of my life. If I’m too lazy to go get something sweet, I eat a spoonful of all natural peanut butter and my cravings settle down.
  5. Plan ahead.
    I know everyone feels like it’s too hard to be healthy. It’s much easier to eat out or buy TV dinners but honestly it’s much easier (and cheaper) to live a healthy lifestyle. Buying frozen veggies is actually more nutritional than buying fresh vegetables. I make food once a day and I eat from that. A sample of my daily diet is more or less like this :

    • Breakfast : Greek Yogurt with a ton of cinnamon and a medium size apple, or banana
    • Snack : a tiny spoon of All Natural Peanut Butter
    • Lunch : I bake two servings of fish/ lean meat, one for lunch and one for dinner. Pop a serving of frozen veggies in the microwave, grab a handful of spinach or red lettuce, and have some salsa as dressing
    • Dinner : Microwave frozen veggies, the left over meat from lunch and have it with a serving of leafy greens and salsa. Fruit for dessert with greek yogurt.

Staying healthy makes my body feel better. I have more energy, I am more alert and I’m happier now that I treat my body better. What do you do to stay healthy?

Leave a Reply

